Skip to content

Reply To: Diamond

Malmin Ilmailukerho ry Forums Keskustelu Diamond Reply To: Diamond

Miika Asunta
Participant

The following is not supposed to be a sermon, and certainly not training material, but I feel I have to write this. I am not an instructor, just a hobbypilot usually listening to what more experienced pilots have to say. I am going to a point out few differences I have found between these aircraft during the self-studying of first days of my summer holiday. I’m new to DA40 TDI so please point out if I’m missing something. I just checked I have flown 19 hours with OH-KAS, there are certainly over 200 hours in OH-SRH. As I wrote earlier, I haven’t flown OH-DDS. Now I regret I haven’t done so.

The airframe is the same in KAS, DDS and STL.

The engine is practically the same in STL, and DDS, as well as in SRH. There may be some difference how propeller is controlled by the Thielert computer between C172 and DA40, eg. how the propeller slows down the plane when power lever setting is reduced.

The fuel system of STL requires special attention. It’s a completely different design from what we have learned in KAS. Main tank and auxiliary tank, with a electric fuel transfer pump and a mechanical emergency fuel valve. Warm fuel returning via pipeline inside both tanks to the main tank, warming up cold fuel.

STL has also a fuel cooling system to be used if ground air temperature is above +20 C to avoid excessive heat in the auxiliary tank. An external mechanical baffle is to be removed from an air intake below right wing. The baffle should be inserted if ground temperature is below +20 C. This is operated by pilot before flight, and is this mentioned in any published checklist? AFM preflight checklist mentions this. We even have the little yellow baffle somewhere in the cockpit. I wondered what it is when I first saw it.

The loading and mass&balance are very different in STL, DDS and SRH.